Skip to content

No Knead Bread

May 24, 2012

Guess what??? Thats right, I am baking more bread today! Last night I was traumatized when my husband was trying for 2 hours to give our little man a bottle. He has taken a few in the past but lately had been refusing them! It was awful listening to him crying and screaming all the while knowing that all he wanted was to nurse but also knowing that since I go to work on Monday he has to figure out the whole bottle thing. Finally after 2 hours we broke down and let him nurse and right after he passed out for 7 hours! Poor baby! So, to keep from thinking about it I am making this  No Knead Bread today that I found on the blog Cooking for Seven that I recently discovered and am loving!

No Knead French Bread | Printable Page | Makes 2 large loaves

From Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day via Honey & Jam

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of lukewarm water
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons active dry yeast
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons coarse salt
  • 6 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

Directions:

1) Place the water, yeast and salt in a very large mixing bowl. Dump in the flour and mix with a wooden spoon until everything is nice and moist. And you’re done mixing!

2) Cover the bowl loosely and let sit until it has risen and deflated a little. Now your dough is ready to be baked or stored in the refrigerator until ready to use.

3) To bake the bread: (If the dough is coming from the refrigerator, let it come to room temp before continuing) Wet your hands with water to prevent your hands from sticking and grab a piece of dough (I usually make half a recipe and use all the dough for one loaf, but you can make smaller loaves if you wish). Form it into a boule by pulling the sides of the dough towards the underside of the dough ball and rotating the dough until you get a roundish shape with a smooth surface. You can also shape the dough into logs or braids.

4) Transfer the dough to a piece of parchment paper (recommended) or a cornmeal-dusted cutting board. Let the dough rest and rise for about 40 minutes.

5) About 20 minutes before you’re ready to bake the bread, put a cast iron skillet or pizza stone on the center rack of the oven and place a roasting pan (I use a 13×9-inch pan) on the bottom rack of the oven. Preheat the oven to 450° F.

6) Dust some flour over the top of your risen loaf and cut a few slashes into the top about 1/4-inch deep. Transfer dough onto the skillet or pizza stone, quickly pour 1 cup of hot tap water into the broiler pan and shut the oven door to keep the steam inside. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until the crust is nice and brown. Cool completely before cutting.

AMAZING!!!! This bread was so easy, so so easy! I almost feel guilty about how little work I put into this for how great it turned out! My only regret is that I cut the recipe in half to only make one loaf, big mistake, I totally should have made 2! Oh and I used 2 cups white flour and 1 1/4 cup whole wheat and it tastes great, very hearty.  Other than that this is what else is going on here today……. hopefully something works!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2012 1:49 pm

    omg i’m loving your bread madness!! i am terrible (really, terrible) with yeast so as much as i want to, i will not be trying any of these on my own. but those garlic knots?? my word. please send some over! lol.

    we went through the same with with the bottle (ironically right around the time i was supposed to be going back to work too) and it’s the worst feeling in the world. I totally get it. she finally snapped out of it and is doing great again, so there is hope. your little guy may just be going through a phase, although it doesn’t make it any easier on mom (or dad for that matter).

    my sister told me about a brand of bottle called “breast fed” and they’re supposed to be great for nursing babies. you can buy them at target. i never ended up needing to try them because abby came around…but maybe that’s an idea of you’re getting (more) nervous about things!

    keep us posted! and keep up the baking. loving it!

    • May 24, 2012 6:04 pm

      I was terrified of baking anything with yeast after a few disasters years back! But seriously……all of these that I made this week have been very easy!
      We are hoping that he does better over the next few days with the bottle. My mom brought over a Nuk one today and after some fussing he took it, so I am hopeful!!! Its the hardest thing we have had to do yet! Last night I just wanted to scream that I wasn’t going back to work……we could just let our house foreclose…..why not????!!! Thankfully today everything feels a bit more sane! I appreciate the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

