Skip to content

Our baby story

March 16, 2012

He’s here!

Early Tuesday morning my husband and I welcomed our son, Wyatt James. It was amazing, it was crazy, it was nothing like we had planned! Yup here is our birth story so don’t read on if thats not your thing!

Monday morning I got up and felt a gush of fluid, kinda weird I thought. Maybe the baby moved and made me pee or something, that had never happened but I heard it could. Then a few minutes later as I was getting dressed I felt it again! The hubby and I took our dogs on a walk and sure enough I kept feeling little gushes every few minutes. When we got home I showered and called my Dr office. They told me to come in at 1 so they could see if it really was amniotic fluid. So we had the morning to kill and wait to see if I started to go into labor. We went to Whole Foods, did laundry, walked the dogs again, and all I was feeling was a backache and slight contractions but nothing regular.

Our plan all along had been to stay at home and labor with our doula for support. I wanted to go to the hospital at the last minute, hopefully arriving there ready to push. We had prepared for this so much, mentally, physically, emotionally. But as the day progressed and I didn’t go into labor we had to start thinking that our plan may be out the window.

At 1 we went to my Dr and sure enough just like I thought it was amniotic fluid. Then came the kicker, since I wasn’t going into labor on my own yet she told me I needed to go to the hospital so they could monitor the baby and get labor started if need be, ugh, meaning Pitocin which was my second to worst nightmare (worst being a c section). I broke down crying, this was not what we had planned and prepared for. Early on in my pregnancy I somehow came to the decision that I wanted to give birth naturally and I had spent months preparing for this amazing challenge and experience for me and my husband and our baby. I felt like it was being ripped away from me and I had no choice. My husband was awesome and kept saying how everything would be fine and trying to keep me focused on the fact that we were going to be parents very soon!

We went home to get our bags ready and I called my doula to let her know the plan, she was awesome as well at keeping my spirits up but then told me she had been sick for 2 days and was working on getting a sub doula to come help us! UGH, not only would I possibly have to be induced but now my birth coach couldn’t be there, the woman I had built a relationship with over the past 6 months and who had taught me and the hubby so much! Scary!

At home I took my time, showered again and packing and making sure the house was all clean and ready for a baby. Finally my husband convinced me it was time to go so we packed up the car and headed out. Last minute I made him stop at the drug store so I could buy some castor oil. Yum! I knew midwives used it frequently to induce labor and I figured it was worth the shot if it could keep me from having to get a Pitocin infusion. I chugged it down with some mango juice and it actually wasn’t horrible, just greasy, ugg.

This picture is just before we left our house.

We got to the hospital around 4, got admitted and monitored for a bit. I was beginning to have contractions somewhat regularly though not painful yet. We were told to walk to see if it would help get things going, so we walked, and walked, and walked! By 7 the castor oil was really kicking in and I was contracting every 3 minutes, feeling some pain. We kept walking, family came by to give their love, and I got settled in on a birthing peanut, kinda like a exercise ball but its shaped like a peanut, so awesome!!! At 9 they checked me and I was at 3cm and 50% effaced, I got the green light from the Dr to keep walking and in 2 more hours we would check again, I had to make it to 5cm  by then. So we pressed on and at 11 I was slightly more uncomfortable, still contracting every 2-3 minutes. Our sub doula Sarah arrived and we got to chat a bit to get to know her and she got right to work supporting us and taking care of everything from ice chips to back rubs. We got a new nurse who checked me and said I was only about 4cm and 90% effaced. We didn’t hit it off with her right away, she seemed to want to just slam me with Pitocin and rush everything, very medical minded which is fine but we wanted to go slow and see how my body would respond to the drug while trying to make sure I could handle the pain and at the same time make progress with cervical changes. So Pitocin was started and multiple times my husband had to pull her aside and plead our case and it worked, she slowed down the rate at which Pitocin is normally increased which is 1 unit per 30 minutes.

At 2am the nurse checked me again and I was to 5cm and 100% effaced. She upped the Pitocin to 8. I was still hanging in there, rocking on the birthing peanut, breathing deeply with each contraction which were defiantely getting stronger. I had back labor so our doula and my husband took turns holding heat pad and pressing into my back for me which helped soooo much! They were a rockstar birth team!

At 330 my contractions got soooo much stronger, I had to moan with each one as I tried to keep my deep breathing going on. I’m not gonna lie, it hurt, ALOT. It was like the contractions from earlier were still happening but then when I thought it had peaked it would do a double grip on my uterus, I started shaking when this happened and feeling like I was gonna puke. I held on but was starting to doubt myself. I knew the nurse was coming at 4 to check me again and I thought that if I wasn’t at least at 8cm I would give up and ask for an epidural, it had gotten that bad in the past half hour.

So just before 4 I decided to get up and go to the bathroom. My husband helped me get off the ball and to the toilet. As soon as I sat down I felt pressure, like TONS of pressure. A contraction started and immediately I could feel the head engage in my pelvis, it was intense to say the least. I started screaming and moaning, I couldn’t control the sounds coming out of me and I felt pretty sure I was going to give birth right there! The nurse rushed in and they got me back to bed to check it out, yup, that was the head, I was ready to deliver. All I could think was thank you God, thank you so much that this is transition and not just leading up to it!

They called my Dr and we tried to wait for her and my mom to get there! Kevin got his mom from the waiting room. They had expected me to deliver around 7 or 8 am, so I was way ahead of schedule! I laid in bed on my side moaning and screaming, I literally could not control the sounds, they just flow out of you! The contractions were soooo strong, soooo strong, and I could feel the head get further down every time. Thankfully the breaks between the contractions were longer now, that was such a blessing! By 420 I could tell the head was almost out, and yes we were still waiting for my Dr and mom to arrive! Then my mom walked in, she starting balling, I can’t imagine what it was like for her to see me in that state. The baby started to crown, wow was that intense. its really does feel like its gonna rip out of you, seriously! The nurse decided we couldn’t wait anymore, my husband got ready to deliver the baby as was our plan. They told me to reach down and feel all of the hair on the baby’s head, sooo much hair! Just then at 425 my Dr walked in and literally put on gloves as she talked my husband through delivering our baby and that was it. I could feel the head come out and then the shoulders and then the rest just slides through. As soon as that was done I had no pain, NONE! It amazed me how you are on the brink of insanity with pain and then its just gone, poof, no more! So awesome!

My husband told me to look down and  I did right on time to see my baby, big man parts staring right back at me! We had a son, we had done what we set out to do with his birth, and it was heaven! I can’t describe the feeling, the relief and the sense of accomplishment. I was totally ready to give up just 25 minutes before and now I had done it, I had succeeded at what I thought I couldn’t do and it was amazing! My husband was balling and put our son up on my chest, I just stared at him, its so surreal! I got to breastfeed him right away, he stayed on my chest for about an hour and we both just stared at each other and then at him. I will never forget that time, its priceless.

Thats it, thats my story. We have been home for a few days now and still are amazed at how it all worked out and how we did what we wanted in spite of the huge set backs! I have no clue what it would have been like without Pitocin, maybe it would have hurt less but who knows. I just can’t describe the feeling of knowing I did something that seemed impossible and for that the pain was worth it, every moment! I’m not gonna get preachy here but if you have ever considered natural birth but have been afraid of the pain or just doubted yourself,  I would say don’t be, face your fear, trust your body and your baby, because its totally worth it! Once I was able to conquer my fear of the pain the rest was much easier and now for the rest of my life I will be so proud of that!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky Purvis permalink
    March 16, 2012 7:09 pm

    Congratulations to you both – but especially you! He’s a beautiful baby and you looked gorgeous, even after giving birth. The picture of you all together right after he was born almost made me cry. It’s a moment you will remember all your life. The best is yet to come!
    Becky

  2. Samantha permalink
    March 18, 2012 12:26 pm

    so inspiring, aub. also, love the diaper bag in the shot! also-also, he looks like you in that pic, big time!

  3. deb permalink
    March 18, 2012 11:41 pm

    Beautiful story, the tears started falling all over again. Thanks so much for letting me be a part of it. Love you guys

Trackbacks

  1. Cousin in finally here! « the tao of sam

Leave a Reply

