Skip to content

Meatless Monday……errrr Tuesday

November 15, 2011

Yesterday was a pretty crazy day, I was running all over town to get everything finished up with selling my car. Once I got home I was tired and didn’t feel like making dinner but we are really trying hard to not eat out much and also to eat healthier. So here is what I threw together last minute and honestly it turned out to be the best soup I have ever made, even the meat loving husband thought so! I don’t have any pictures though, we were to starving to stop and take some before diving in!

Curried Lentil Soup

1 large onion chopped

1 large carrot chopped

1/2 red bell pepper chopped

3 medium red potatoes cubbed

1 1/4 cups dried red lentils

2 cups vegetable stock

2 cups water

1 teaspoon curry powder

1/2 teaspoon cumin

1/8 teaspoon cloves

salt and pepper to taste

1) sautee onion over medium heat with a little bit of olive oil, until it is a nice brown color. then add red pepper and carrots. sautee for 3-5 min more.

2) add potatoes and lentils, stir well, add stock and water, allow to simmer for 45-60 minutes, until potatoes and lentils are soft.

3) add spices, increase the amount of curry powder if you like a little bit more of a kick, then enjoy!

It was so easy to make and had the most incredible complex taste and on top of that was super healthy! I brought leftovers with me to work today and I can’t wait to go to lunch! Hope everyone has a wonderful Tuesday!

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 12, 2012 11:13 pm

    This looks yummy! We eat a lot of lentils at our house. I can’t wait to try this recipe!

Leave a Reply

