Skip to content

Dresser Makeover

July 12, 2011

This is something I am super excited about and had wanted to do for a very long time! When I was in high school my parents bought me a nice new dresser when we moved but then come time for college and they wouldn’t let me take it when I moved out! Finally all these years later, after suffering with small closets and even smaller and cheaper dressers, they were ready to let me have the dresser they had bought for me! Only problem that now I didn’t like the finish on it, very late 90’s looking. So now I faced the problem (or totally exciting challenge) of having to figure out to make it look they way I wanted it to since its an awesome and huge dresser, not to mention free! Here is the dresser before:

For once I actually remembered to take some “before” pictures rather than taking them 2 hours into the project! What I decided to do was paint the dresser, quick and easy and I had already done that with the antique dresser I found at a garage sale, remember? Painting furniture is so easy, here is the run down on the process.

1) Clean item to be painted and sand down any rough spots.

2) Paint 1-2 coats of primer on piece, sometimes 2 is needed to get good coverage. Let piece dry.

3) Paint 2-3 coats of paint (color of your choice), do as many coats as needed to get a nice smooth finish.

4) Allow to dry completely.

That’s all there is to it, so easy! The dresser took me about a total of 4-5 hours. And here it is now!!!!!

It made such a difference in our room, our previous dresser was small and super dark brown. Now we can finally put all of our clothes away somewhere, plus our closet makeover is complete (that I will share soon!). Happy painting!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

