Skip to content

Oh My Stencil

May 30, 2011

For the past two years now my dining room has looked like this:

Once again I moved furniture around before realizing I needed to take some “before” pictures, but you get the idea. Big dark red wall. I really liked it for awhile but lately have wanted something a bit more fun and not red! I was inspired by this:

That amazing wall was done with a stencil! As soon as I saw it I knew that was what I wanted to do for my dining room. So off to the Cutting Edge Stencil shop on Etsy and I found this baby.

I fell head over heels for this patterned stencil and ordered it right away. Then when it arrived and I got to work my passion for stencils quickly faded! It is freakin hard work to stencil a wall! Seriously don’t listen to those gals that claim its a piece of cake, its not! I thought I was going mental for awhile cause its soooo hard to keep the pattern perfectly straight and paint always smears on the edges of the pattern so you spend tons of time doing little touch ups.

I started by doing a coat of primer on the wall to cover the red and then painted it a deep teal that is my new favorite color!

Once that was dry it was time to start with the stencil. I chose a light gray color for the stencill pattern.

After many many hours I finally finished although I do still have to go back and do more touch ups. But here is the finished look and I will say in spite of the frustrations along the way I am happy with the results!

That last one is a shot from the living room, Hannah the dog likes the new wall too! If you ever decide to attempt to stencil a wall good luck, and make sure you have lots of patience and a leveling tool!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2011 4:24 pm

    Oh my goodness, I love it! Perhaps you would like to come over to my house and do one of my walls???

  2. December 15, 2011 8:12 am

    Amazing. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

