Skip to content

Meatless Monday

March 23, 2011

Once again I had to work yesterday so I am again a day late on my recipe. This one was actually done by my husband as a suprise for me. Since I have been torturing him with meatless meals every Monday for a few months (even though he has liked everything I have made vegetarian) he decided to take it a few steps further. He made dinner not only meatless but also vegan and raw! And it was fantastic!

Raw Kale salad with Honey dressing

1 large bunch of kale

1 cup baby spinach

1 cup sliced strawberries

1 diced avocado

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

1/8 cup pine nuts

1 tbls honey

1 tbls olive oil

Rinse and dry one large bunch of kale, tear into bite size pieces, mix in spinach and combine in a large bowl. Add strawberries, avocado, walnuts, and pine nuts. Drizzle with honey and olive oil and toss to mix adding salt and pepper to taste if desired, then enjoy your raw vegan super healthy dinner!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 2:11 am

    Hi! I stumbled upon your blog completely by mistake– you’re on my sister’s blog’s blog roll (myminermadness.blogspot.com) and I just wanted to thank you for this fabulous recipe. I happened upon it yesterday and couldn’t stop thinking about this delicious looking salad all day– so I made it for dinner tonight. Completely delicious! I’m a vegetarian who flirts with raw veganism from time to time and this recipe will definitely be a mainstay for vegan and non-vegan times. I didn’t have any fresh spinach, so I substituted baby arugula. YUM!

    Glad you guys are enjoying your “Meatless Mondays”- I commend you on your decision to eliminate meat one day per week and wish more people would do the same. People tend to think it’s “all or nothing” with vegetarianism– but just making a conscious decision to eat less meat or meat produced more responsibly is a tremendous step in the right direction!

    Okay… back to the kitchen for another bowl of this awesome salad! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

