Skip to content

Meatless Monday

March 7, 2011

Last Monday I had to work which hardly ever happens. Nobody likes working on Monday so usually I don’t! But since I had to last week I needed to create a fast and easy meatless dinner. I decided on grilled caprese sandwiches. I stopped by Trader Joe’s on my way home to get all the ingredients I needed and then once I got home dinner was done in 10 minutes! And it was delish!

Grilled Caprese Sandwiches

1 loaf of good bread

(I used a roasted garlic and thyme loaf from TJ’s)

fresh mozzarella cheese

sun-dried tomatoes

pre made pesto

salt

pepper

olive oil

Heat approx 1 tbls olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Slice the loaf of bread into thick sandwich slices. Coat one piece with pesto, then layer on some sun-dried tomatoes and the mozzarella cheese. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Lay the bread in the skillet. Once the piece without the toppings is toasted on the bottom lay it on top of the other piece, this will help melt the cheese more. Wait approx. 1 more minute and then remove the sandwich and enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2011 5:42 pm

    Ooh, this looks like quick and yummy “grown up” grilled cheese 🙂

  2. Samantha permalink
    March 9, 2011 3:13 pm

    Looks delish! I’m so proud of you for getting kev to do meatless ANYTHING. Haha! Kudos!

Leave a Reply

